Search Chiro Jobs in Connecticut
Chiropractor jobs in Connecticut vary greatly from city to city. The highest paid chiropractor jobs are in Stamford, Greenwich and Norfolk while Waterbury offers the lowest paid jobs. The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) indicates that the average annual salary for chiropractors in Connecticut was $146,000, with the lowest 10 per cent earning under $140,000. However, the average chiropractor hourly wage in Connecticut, according to BLS is $47.54. These figures reveal that chiropractic is a highly sought-after profession, but a person has to first qualify as a chiropractor for them to work in Connecticut.
Qualifying as a Chiropractor in Connecticut
To qualify as a chiropractor in Connecticut, a high school diploma is mandatory. Preference should be given to Math, Biology, Chemistry, Physics and courses like English and Social Studies to help improve your communication skills and research abilities.
Thereafter, an undergraduate degree which can be a two-year associate’s degree or a four-year bachelor’s degree. A chiropractic Doctoral program, which requires a minimum of 90 credits in general subjects besides courses in biology, physics, organic and inorganic chemistry, is the next level. Salaries for each level of education are varied.
It is prudent to remember that associate’s degree programs usually offer just 60 hours of credit and hence, many aspiring chiropractors in Connecticut enroll for bachelor’s degree programs in biology or other life sciences and pre-med subjects.
Chiropractic licensing and regulation in Connecticut
The Connecticut State Board of Chiropractic Examiners is the licensing and regulation body in charge of this profession.
Connecticut requires chiropractors to complete Continuing Education with every new license application or renewal of the same. This would mean completing a minimum of 48 hours of monitored contact hours during Continuing Education. Each contact hour is equivalent to approximately 55 minutes of continuing education activity. The CE should be exercised within every odd numbered year. Of these 48 hours, 1 hour is set aside for risk management, one hour in CT chiropractic statutes, one hour in documentation and two hours in boundary training/patient communication.
As of 1 January 2016, the State of Connecticut required all chiropractors who want to renew their licenses, to complete training of minimum two hours in the first renewal period and subsequently once every 6 years on mental health issues afflicting experts and their family members.
The license fee structure is as follows:
Initial Application Fee: $565.00
Renewal Application Fee: $570.00
Reinstatement Fee: $565.00
All applicants must meet the following requirements:
Must familiarize themselves with the licensing policies
Must complete 60 semester hours on all pre-professional college education
Must be a graduate of the Council on Chiropractic Education accredited chiropractic college
Complete all examinations administered by the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners
Connecticut Chiropractic Council (CCC)
This council was created for the sole purpose of providing a distinctive forum for Doctors of chiropractic in Connecticut. The CCC serves as a vehicle that communicates safeguards and protects the chiropractor’s interests within the state. The councils hold firm the traditional views of chiropractic and insist that this health profession be categorized on its own as a separate form of healing. A significant number of chiropractors in Connecticut are now able to express their concerns freely through the council.