Chiropractor jobs in Delaware vary from town to town and so are their salaries, the towns with the highest paid chiropractors are Harrington, Lewes, Milford, Rehoboth beach and Seaford whereas the lowest paid chiropractors is from Middleton. In Delaware the best paid chiropractor earns a yearly average of $ 149,737 annually and the least earns around $143,788 annually.
Chiropractor academic qualifications in Delaware
The academic qualification for a chiropractor in Delaware includes the basic high school diploma in biology, mathematics, English, physics and social studies. Certifications from an undergraduate college of chiropractic’s or 4 year Doctor’s degree in chiropractic’s that is recognized by the general chiropractic council (GCC). In addition aspiring chiropractors should seek clearance from the disclosure and barring services (DBS) before they can practice. Voluntary experience in a caring role will be an added advantage.
Chiropractor’s required skills
Being a chiropractor involves standing a lot for the better part of the working day, so chiropractors need to be of good health and stamina, good observation skills, communication skills, management skills, teamwork skills and interpersonal skills.
Chiropractic Governing and Licensing bodies in Delaware
Delaware State Board of Chiropractic is the licensing and regulation body with authority and power to issue chiropractors with chiropractic practice license. In addition, the board has the authority to restrain, revoke or reinstate licenses if the practitioners do not follow the board’s rules and regulations. Before the board can issue any license, the applicant has to take a jurisprudence exam, go through a thorough criminal back ground check, have their finger prints taken and then they will have to pay the application fee, exam fee, initial license fee and regular license renewal fee.
A license application should be seconded by a certificate of Continuing Education. All licenses expire on the 30th of June of every even year and are supposed to be renewed. 3 credit hours are needed for Continuing Education of these 3 individuals are supposed to set some hours aside for ethics, risk management and book keeping.
Rules and regulations governing chiropractors
Unlicensed students and doctors of Chiropractic are prohibited from practising. The board has he right to hold an investigation on an applicant or licensed chiropractor should need occur. Chiropractors from other states, cities or districts are not prohibited from entering Delaware to consult with Delaware’s chiropractors, but such consultation shall only be limited to laboratory examinations, recommendations or testimony of litigation. No person shall present himself or herself to the public as chiropractic or display any sign of advertisement in any manner as being a chiropractic Doctor or a chiropractic physician without obtaining a practice license from the governing board as required in rules and regulations chapter of chiropractors jobs act.
In cases whereby a person that is not currently licensed by the board as a chiropractic practitioner is tried in court and found guilty of unlawfully practising chiropractic in Delaware in violation of the rules and regulation chapter, he or she shall upon the first offence be fined not less than $ 500 or imprisoned for not less than 1 month nor more than 1 year. Upon second or repeated offences, he or she shall be fined not less than $ 1000 and face an imprisonment term not less than 6 months or more than 1 year. No practising chiropractor is allowed to use radioactive materials to treat clients or prescribe and administer any form of medication.