Chiropractic jobs in Iowa

Chiropractor salaries in Iowa range from a minimum yearly average of $ 109,416 and a maximum of $138,025. The highest paid cities are Ankeny, Des Moines, Urbandale and West Des Moines whereas the lowest paid is Sioux City. All these salary figures are not inclusive of bonuses and benefits.

To qualify as a chiropractor, there are a number of requirements that you must meet, discussed below are the most sensitive and compelling ones.

Iowa Board of Chiropractic

This board accepts and evaluates all license applications and issues them out to those who qualify. It also has an established regulatory system that governs the chiropractic practice within the state. The rules protects the profession’s ethics as well as the public interest by ensuring that only qualified chiropractors practice and give the public the services due.

It is an individual’s duty to meet the boards stipulated requirements, failure to do so will lead the board refuse any license application as well as revoke any existing license if and when it is forced to act on behalf of the profession’s interests.

License applications

To apply for a license an individual must present:

  • Official transcripts of a degree in chiropractic from a board approved school of chiropractic.
  • Certificate showing their completion of 120 hours of physiotherapy at any board approved Chiropractic College.
  • All verified chiropractic licenses held in other states. And if the applicant has ever practiced in other states he must provide proof of completing 60 hours of Continuing Education, proof of practicing as a licensed a chiropractor for a period not less than one year and proof of graduating from a board approved chiropractic school after which the individual practiced chiropractic for a period not less than 2 years.

The license fees are:

Initial license fee to practice chiropractic is $ 270

Annual temporary certificate issuance fee is $ 120

License renewal fee is $ 120

Penalty fee for late renewals is $ 60

Inactive licenses are reactivated at a fee of $ 180

Verification of license fee $ 20

Disciplinary hearing fee is $ 75

All licenses must be renewed after every two years; fees once made are non-refundable.

Continuing Education

All license applicants are expected to complete a minimum 60 CE hours before issuing their applications to IBC within the biennium license renewal period.

36 of these hours should be from a program directly related to clinical case management of chiropractic patients. The remaining hours can be spent on CE courses that directly impart the individual with knowledge that betters their skill.

Iowa Chiropractic Society

This association was founded in 1964 with a mission to unify and advocate for the rights of the chiropractic society. It is a member association that presents all its members with benefits that range from protecting their interests to reduced rates on some of their products and services. For more information about the board and all its undertakings please visit them at http://www.iowadcs.org